No Poo? I say yes, to shampoo!

So on the road to going completely natural with my bath & body products, I have come to a fork in the road. No poo, greasy hair? Or shiny clean hair? I have decided to go for the shampoo. 3 days ago, I washed my hair with some homemade dog shampoo that I had made for my pooches. Yes, dog shampoo. I thought well, this is made with apple cider vinegar and I’ve done the apple cider vinegar rinse, so why not try this dog shampoo?  It was a 1:1 ratio of liquid soap and apple cider vinegar. It worked really well and then I skipped 2 days of washing and my hair was a little greasy. I used my Naturally Pure dry shampoo to remove the oil and tonight I decided to make some more shampoo. This time I used Dr. Bronner’s castile soap and apple cider vinegar and when I mixed the two, it just became a curdled mess. I then thought, why don’t I just try washing with castile soap and water and then rinse with 1:1 ratio of apple cider vinegar and water? Wrong….. My hair felt fine after I rinsed, but when I went to blow dry my hair…. Let’s just say, gross!!!! My hair dried and styled just fine, but looked dirty and dry!!!  I can’t do the baking soda and water method, and definately can’t do nothing at all. What was I thinking? Just stick to what you were using before the shampoo bar, Kathy! Wait, but that was making my hair look dry! It definately wasn’t oily. I was just tired of it looking dry. So I guess I am back to the shampoo bar for now and I think I will deal with my hair being a bit flat. I need some advice from anyone who has gone the natural route with their shampoo. Anyone? Let me know what works for you.

Leave a Reply

